So I feel like I'm pretty far behind on this project. I haven't thought about
it much at all this last week. I haven't gotten around to doing more of these
posts, nevermind the project plan.


The procedure on doing this is my biggest concern, next to how methanogens
are vital to the ecology. My advisor warned me that nano-silver might be a
potential threat to other life forms. My resarch tells me that nano-silver is
mostly only harmful to prokaryotes, and there shouldn't be much of those around
the methaogens seeing as methanogens are extremeophiles! Methanogenisis (Spelled
that wrong) is a anaerobic process that takes carbon dioxide-on top of other
compunds- and leaves methane- on top of other compounds. So I figure if we
pinpoint the general area the methaogens are then we can inject the nano-silver
in to exterminate the population. I've done research on a kind of pump that
would be efficent in distributing the nano-silver but I really couldn't find
something ideal. So I thought about it and I figure a giant pipet is what I
really need. the pipet should be stuck a few inches to the ground and pumped,
releasing a stream of nano-silver particles into the topsoil. If the pipet had
several different tubes leading out of it a large enough area will be
contaminated pretty quickly. The waterlogged ecosystem will do the rest to
spread it around. My advisor was not too descrptive of how the heck methanogens
might hurt the global ecosystem, but I HOPE it has to do with carbon dioxide.
Methanogens eliminate carbon dioxide from the planet and that may be the
ecological role he was referring to. If so, I'd be delighted because I'm not
worried about that. Accoriding to my sources methane is way worse of a
greenhouse gas than methane. So the fact that there'd be more carbon dioxide is
not a bad thing! Methane is so much worse than carbon that I'd still be greatly
improving the global situation.


I'm going to ask my advisor about what EXACTLY is their 'vital' role. I'm a
little nervous becaus eI might just have scared him away by asking for more
help. I'm going to email him; I hope he actually replies.




Leave a Reply.